JohnSWilson3 Blog


“But the Pharisees and experts in the law rejected God’s purpose for themselves…”
August 7, 2009, 2:44 am
Filed under: C Gospel According to Luke
I was caught by these words this morning as I read Chapter 7 of the Book of Luke. Perhaps it is the conflict of truly knowing God’s purpose for my life…especially in the times when I seem like I’m in the desert. But as I read this passage I’m reminded that the Pharisees and experts in the law were a people in contrast to “all the people, even the tax collectors, when they heard Jesus’ words, acknowledged that God’s way was right.” What is God’s purpose for my/your life? Is God’s way right? What is God’s way? It’s intersting that followers of Jesus were also called “The Way.” Jesus also said “I am the way, the truth, and the life, no one comes to the Father except through me.” Perhaps this is what is being referred to when we acknowledge that God’s way is right….accepting the fact that Jesus is the way to God. Jesus showed that His way was selfless and humble, focused solely on expressing God on this earth. In this chapter Jesus described the incredible faith of a Roman centurion who believed Jesus’ words, comforted a widow by raising her son from the dead, curing “many who had diseases, sicknesses and evil spirits, and gave sight to many who were blind,” and forgiving the sins of a “sinner.” People “were all filled with awe and praised God.” That was the way of Jesus. Jesus, walk your way through me to others, so that others can see You through me…even though it seems like I’m walking in the desert.
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

