JohnSWilson3 Blog


“Calling the Twelve to him…”
August 7, 2009, 2:30 am
Filed under: B Gospel According to Mark
As I read Mark Chapter 6 this morning the Lord reminded me again that He calls us first into a relationship with Himself. As I realized this again, I also noticed from the chapter that this was after Jesus was given such a poor reaction to His words by those from “his hometown.” And then after He called the Twelve he told them to “take nothing for the journey except a staff…sandals…(and a) tunic.” I’m not sure how the disciples would have taken this at first, me included. I sensed that Jesus desires us to trust Him even in the midst of adversity. Even though someone has spoken to me and perhaps my friends wrongly because of Jesus, can I still trust Jesus? Do I really need a lot of stuff to do what Jesus has asked me to do? Or can I trust Jesus to provide for my daily needs? I’m reminded that He also sent them out “two by two” and with “authority.” Life with Jesus is meant to be with His people, someone else whose on the same road for mutual encouragement and support. Do I have someone from His people who provides mutual encouragement and support? Life with Jesus means I CAN do what He’s asked me to do because He said it. As a result the disciples “went out and preached that people should repent” and “they drove out many demons and anointed many sick people with oil and healed them.” What an awesome time for the disciples, what an awesome time we can have with Jesus when we trust Him!
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

