JohnSWilson3 Blog


“…For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, and he who humbles himself will be exalted.”
August 7, 2009, 2:47 am
Filed under: C Gospel According to Luke
In Chapters 13 and 14 of the Book of Luke Jesus seems to be on the offensive. Some came apparently to try and inspire fear in Jesus (some “told Jesus about the Galileans whose blood Pilate had mixed with their sacrifices”, “Leave this place and go somewhere else. Herod wants to kill you”), others attempted to try and control Jesus (“There are six days for work. So come and be healed on those days, not on the Sabbath”), and still others attempted to humiliate Jesus (he noticed how the guests picked the places of honor at the table). I think of all the bad days I’ve ever had and how I have reacted to them, most not very pleasant, sad to say. As a follower of Jesus I know I will have people who will try to cause me fear, who will try to control me with their religious traditions, and others who will try to humiliate me. I guess these are others attempts at being defensive. Sometimes it’s hard to figure out what to do in those situations, most the times the course of action is to attack verbally (become defensive) or do nothing, I don’t always ask Jesus to help me through those times. What comes immediately to mind is what Jesus said on the cross “Father forgive them for they know not what they do.” In that light I need Jesus to live through me to pray for and forgive those who attempt to wrong me. As Jesus said “he who humbles himself will be exalted.” At the conclusion of Chapter 14 I think Jesus gives us good warning about being His follower, it’s not suppose to be easy and lazy: “anyone who does not carry his cross and follow me cannot be my disciple.” If we think it’s suppose to be easy and lazy Jesus also says: “repent.” Lord bring followers of Jesus into my life who will ask me the hard questions and so let yourself live through me so that I don’t live an easy and lazy Christian life, which is no life at all.
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

