JohnSWilson3 Blog


“…I tell you the truth, he who believes has everlasting life. I am the bread of life…”
August 7, 2009, 11:34 am
Filed under: D Gospel According to John

In chapters 6 to 8 of the book of John the Lord gave me a sense of Jesus’ intensity both in what He said and did. The beginning of Chapter 6 Jesus does an incredible miracle of feeding five thousand men (not to mention the women and children who must have been present!) with only “five small barley loaves and two small fish.” Jesus used this opportunity to give a lesson (like normal!). I need to remember that the lessons that Jesus wants to teach me can be in the things that occur in my own life, whether miraculous or not. But this miraculous feeding of so many people provided Jesus the opportunity to explain how He was”the bread of God” who “comes down from heaven and gives life to the world.”  Jesus again points to the fact that He is not just “Jesus, the son of Joseph.” But then Jesus gives a striking visual image: “I tell you the truth, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you have no life in you.” Talk about a crazy statement. But Jesus said that “the words I have spoken to you are spirit and they are life” I guess to say that He was speaking in a spiritual sense, but nonetheless true. Jesus said earlier that “the work of God is this: to believe in the one he has sent.” I do a lot of things at home, helping others, and of course my work as a teacher at school. But Jesus says “to believe.” To Jesus then, to believe Him means more than just to know about Him, it is to KNOW Him. Jesus says to “come to” Him, to “believe” in Him, to “listen” and “learn from him,” to “come to me and drink,” to follow Him, to “hold to my teaching.” I have to consume Jesus, I have to have all of Jesus! Peter was right when he said to Jesus “Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life. We believe and know that you are the Holy One of God.” Thank you Jesus that in You is life! In You I am set free being a slave to sin! I believe You, I am listening and learning from You, I come to You to drink from You and Your word, I follow You, I obey You. Amen!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

