JohnSWilson3 Blog


“Love the Lord…love your neighbor…”
August 7, 2009, 2:37 am
Filed under: B Gospel According to Mark
As I get to the later chapters of Mark, here in Chapter 12, the great commandment is deposited out to everyone by Jesus. Jesus’ said “There is no commandment greater than these.” Because of how Jesus speaks of them, its seems to indicate that one cannot exist without the other, that they are inseparable from each other. Can I really love the Lord my God with all my heart and with all my soul and with all my mind and with all my strength and yet not love my neighbor as myself? Can I really love my neighbor as myself and yet not love the Lord my God with all my heart and with all my soul and with all my mind and with all my strength? The followers of Jesus were called “the Way” describing the way they lived. Do I live like Jesus by loving the Lord with all my being and loving my neighbor as myself? Do I have something against my neighbor? I think Jesus’ would say “go and be reconciled.” If I cannot, what does that say about my loving the Lord? How is my relationship with Jesus? If I do not love the Lord, what does that say about my relationship with others? Paul says that the followers of Jesus were also the body of Christ and each are members of His body. If I love my brother or sister in Christ, am I loving the Lord? How can I love the Lord without loving the body of Christ, no matter who they may be?
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

