JohnSWilson3 Blog


“…The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full…”
August 7, 2009, 5:33 pm
Filed under: D Gospel According to John

In chapters 9 and 10 of the book of John Jesus gives me a glimpse of what He means when He says in chapter 8: “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” Jesus just happened to be walking along with His disciples one day and He sees “a man blind from birth.” What is interesting to me is that the disciples didn’t ask Jesus to heal him but asked Jesus “Rabbi, who sinned, this man or his parents, that he was born blind.” Isn’t that what we do, we see someone in trouble and the first thing we think is that person must have done something wrong. Why do I/we do that? I guess it goes back to the blame thing we do, when ever there is a problem we have to blame something. Why can’t I just help the person in trouble instead of trying to weasle my way out by blaming or making excuses? But Jesus makes an incredible freeing statement: “Neither this man nor his parents sinned,” said Jesus, “but this happened so that the work of God might be displayed in his life…I am the light of the world.” Awesome! So somehow Jesus is saying that when ever there is a problem there may be something about it that God can use to display His glory, to redeem it in some way. What is amazing is that Jesus heals the man and the man is clueness to who Jesus is except that he had heard of Jesus before. Then the religious leaders make a well-to-do about the whole thing because it didn’t fit their traditions. The man repeatedly states “I was blind but now I see!” The religious leaders cannot overcome their own pride and ego to admit what happened and give credit to Jesus, living in denial – amazing! It even comes to a head when the religious leaders actually attempt to stone Jesus for the words He speaks against them, because they “do not believe.” Am I denying something that I know Jesus desires in my life? Jesus said that He is “the good shepherd: I know my sheep and my sheep know me.” Jesus wants to give me/you “life, and have it to the full”! As I/we know, life isn’t always pretty, it can be pretty rough, but Jesus can give us “life, and have it to the full” even when life can be pretty bad around us. Maybe that’s it, maybe life is more of attitude and how we take what comes our way and giving the situation over to Jesus. How is my/your attitude when life gets bad? Can I/we really trust Jesus to help me/us? I need the body of Christ, some other followers of Jesus, who can be on the road with me, the body of Christ together, so that He can live through us and build each of us up together so that “the thief” won’t come and “steal and kill and destroy.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

