JohnSWilson3 Blog


“…whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst…”
August 7, 2009, 2:51 am
Filed under: D Gospel According to John
As I read chapters 4 and 5 from the book of John this morning I got a sense that John more so than the other gospel writers makes a point to share more of the words that Jesus spoke during his encounters with people. In the story of the Samaritan woman, the story of the sick son of a royal official, the story of the invalid, and an encounter with Pharisees Jesus’ words focus on “life.” With Jesus I/we find life, but more than just life like we know it. To the Samaritan woman Jesus’ describes drinking “the water I give” and you will “never thirst. Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” Spring water gives me the image of fresh and satisfying water! Jesus gives life that is living, fresh, and satisfying, that wells up, life to the full so to speak! I need that kind of life! To the “royal official whose son lay sick” Jesus doesn’t give a lot of images but simply says “your son will live.” Sometimes I think I need to hear a lot from Jesus, but really the most profound can be the simplest things in life. When life seems hopeless and just “stinks,” to hear Jesus say “live” gives me a new sense of perspective. How simply am I enjoying life with Jesus even though life isn’t going my way, or is my life more about me? To the invalid Jesus spoke some simple words of “Get up! Pick up your mat and walk.” Do I trust Jesus at His word? Can I let Jesus do the extraordinary in my life or in someone else’s life through me? To the Pharisees, the religious people, Jesus never minced words: “I tell you the truth, whoever hears my word and believes him who sent me has eternal life and will not be condemned; he has crossed over from death to life.” Jesus always gave words of judgment to those who were judgmental, who were religious, who were egotists, who were bigots. But He still showed them He cared by telling them the truth and gave them hope if they would only hear Him out and believe what He said. Lord help me to hear you, believe what you say, follow you, so that I and others can enjoy that life giving spring of water that only comes from You!
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

