JohnSWilson3 Blog


“Whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant…”
August 7, 2009, 2:35 am
Filed under: B Gospel According to Mark
God has been showing me now more than ever about true leadership, spiritual leadership. From Mark Chapter 11 Jesus describes true spiritual leadership, leadership that is based on serving others and not on being served. I have to admit that being served by others is kinda’ nice, especially for the ego. But God didn’t call me to have my ego swelled but to love Him and my neighbor. Jesus, earlier in this chapter, just described again to His disciples how He would be betrayed, condemned to death, mocked, spit upon, flogged, and killed…but that “later he will rise.” I’m not sure how I’d feel at that moment if a good friend told me something like this. James and John decided to ask to sit at His right and left “in your glory” so somehow they thought He was going to take over as the King of Israel, like they all assumed. Ego is a powerful force in the human heart. Lord thank you that you have saved me not only from my sin but also from myself! How am I loving others? Am I lording it over others? How am I loving Jesus? Is my,your church leadership lording it over others? Is there really a need for a church heiarchy, doesn’t a clergy whether they say it or not, really show that they are a separate class of Christians, doesn’t even the position show that? According to Jesus “not so with you.” In the body of Christ no one lords it over anyone, we are all equals…learning together to love Jesus and one another. We are all one in Christ, for those who follow Jesus. The Lord leads through all of His body. Do I really love Jesus and others?
Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

