JohnSWilson3 Blog


“I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in me will live, even though he dies; and whoever lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?”
August 8, 2009, 12:36 pm
Filed under: D Gospel According to John

I kind of camped out on chapter 11 of the book of John this morning. What an incredible story! As I began to read the story of Lazarus the Lord reminded me of the story earlier of the the man born blind whom Jesus healed. When Jesus received news from Mary and Martha of Bethany that their brother Lazarus was sick he said to His disciples: “This sickness will not end in death. No, it is for God’s glory so that God’s Son may be glorified through it.” Earlier when Jesus was asked about the man born blind He said: “Neither this man nor his parents sinned….but this happened so that the work of God might be displayed in his life….I am the light of the world” and “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” When Jesus got the report about Lazarus, even though He loved this family, “he stayed where he was two more days.” Jesus waited until Lazarus had died before returning to Bethany. That somehow seems terribly discomforting, it seems Jesus did not care for His friends. But Jesus said “it is for God’s glory.” We don’t know the real reason until later in the story. Jesus mentions to Martha “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in me will live, even though he dies; and whoever lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?” Jesus said earlier: “The work of God is this: to believe in the one he has sent.” So this whole story somehow, even in the midst of this tradegy, in the midst of the sorrow and pain, that Jesus allowed, Jesus through it all desires our faith in Him. Can I trust Jesus to be “the resurrection and the life” in me, in us a His body? Can Jesus really change us and our relationships, can He bring what seems dead to me, to life? What happpened when Jesus raised Lazarus from the dead – many “put their faith in him.” Lord, increase our faith! When I pray that, I know that life’s circumstances are not going to be easy, because Jesus’ desires to “be glorified through it.” I trust in You, You are “the resurrection and the life,” be glorified through me, through Your Body!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

