JohnSWilson3 Blog


“A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. BY this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”
August 10, 2009, 1:36 pm
Filed under: D Gospel According to John

Reading chapters 13 and 14 of the book of John this morning this one statement Jesus makes seems to be the crucible, the bridge if you will of everything Jesus has said and done before and what happens next. It seems that it summarizes all that Jesus came to do and then generalizes or explains what He does next. Jesus said this was a “new command.” Loving one another seems to have always been the desire of God’s heart from the beginning, but Jesus, God now having been in our human flesh, now explains it this way: “As I have loved you, so you must love one another.” What is incredible to me is that Jesus says this after He just knelt down and washed all of the disciples feet, pretty nasty job if you ask me! I’m not a foot person myself, and washing someone else’s feet is probably the lowest thing you could do. But Jesus did it and He says afterwards that He did so as “an example that you should do as I have done for you.” What is amazing, beyond just this, is the fact that He also washed the feet of Judas Iscariot, fully knowing that he would betray Him. I always seem to ask myself, can I humble myself to someone whom I am in conflict with, who I know hates me, who is trying to do their best to ruin me? Can I overcome my pride and ego to humble myself to another person? I have to honestly say no, at least not without some help! Perhaps that’s it! Jesus, after He gives this new command tells the disciples to focus on trusting in Him, God, that He is the way, the truth, and the life. If there is a way through life’s difficulties, Jesus, in truth, is the only way through life, because He is Way, Truth, and Life! We can go to Jesus and “ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.” Awesome! And the key to our life in Jesus is that He gives us, followers of Him, His very life, Himself, the Counselor, the Spirit of truth, the Holy Spirit. Because God lives in me, and I in Him, I CAN “love one another” no matter the circumstances. Because He is in me and I in Him, Jesus IS my life, Jesus IS the One who actually is loving others through me! Maybe I need to hear it and see it more often, so that Jesus can truly live through me. How are you as a follower letting Jesus live through you? Perhaps if every follower of Jesus (me included!) would trust Jesus and allow Jesus to truly be their life and let Jesus live through them, then perhaps the world would really see and know that we are His disciples…because we love one another. Isn’t that what I and you, everyone in their heart of hearts really desire, to love and be loved? But satan always seems to try and gum things up, he’s always trying to ruin what God is doing, satan is a thief and wants to steal, kill, and destroy. We need each other, we don’t love in isolation, Jesus said to “love one ANOTHER.” Only when we “love one another,” through the stuff of life, letting Jesus overcome the difficulties, will we fulfill His command. Jesus said “do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me” because he’s preparing a place for us and one day we will be with Him forever! In the mean time “love one another” just as Jesus, denying Himself and dieing on a cross because He “loved the world.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

