JohnSWilson3 Blog


“…This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples…”
August 11, 2009, 12:44 pm
Filed under: D Gospel According to John

Reading chapters 15 to 17 from the Book of John this morning is always a heart pounding, mind blowing time with the Lord! The words Jesus speaks are incredible! The depth of the words are tremendous! The one word that even comes close to describing these chapters is oneness or unity.

In chapter 15 Jesus describes His relationship with His disciples as Him being the “true vine” and that His disciples “are the branches.” The branches of the vine are part of the vine, have the life of the vine, in fact the branches make up the vine! The statement Jesus gives that “this is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples” seems to be a reference back to Jesus new commandment He gave His disciples which is repeated again in chapter 15: “My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you” because “by this all men will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.” Jesus furthers this thought by calling His disciples no longer servants but “friends”! Friends love each other, even to the death, denying myself for my brother or sister in Jesus!

And in chapter 17 Jesus, in His prayer to the Father, describes this close intimate relationship like this: “that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you sent me.” Awesome! God’s glory cannot be displayed through His Body only when His disciples truly “love one another.” The Triune God, Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, the three Persons of the Godhead, One God in three Persons, lives in me and His followers. God desires for me/us to be closely and intimately connected with a few other followers of Jesus, in love for each other, so that God’s glory could be displayed to those around us.

Interconnected through Jesus’ words are His words about His Spirit. Through the Spirit every follower is connected to the Triune God and vice versa. This connection seems to only grow closer when followers of Jesus grow in love for each other. The mission Jesus gave His followers can only be fulfilled when this happens. We cannot be solo Christians, we cannot be the only one who speaks, the only one who serves, the only one who sings, the only one who teaches, the only one who encourages, when His Body comes together. Everyone must learn to participate, everyone must learn to love, the closeness Jesus describes cannot happen until everyone “loves one another.” How can we have this happen, except that we spend time together, learning about each other, enjoying time together, working through the issues of life together, and allowing Jesus to love through each of us to each other. Jesus words of “deny yourself, take up your cross, and follow me” comes to mind.

I like to do a lot of things on my own, as part of my personality, and I know that I can’t live that way, all the time. I have to give up, deny myself, and decide to share life with a few other followers, His Body, in order to experience the life of Jesus. Lord speak to me, guide me, lead me, show me those whom You would desire to bring into my life, my family’s life, so that Your glory would be expressed, because of our love for one another, and displayed to our neighbors that they may know You.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Amen! Your closing prayer has been as too for the last few days.

Comment by Ugonma

The words of Jesus have definately become more alive as a result of this past weekend!

Comment by John Wilson

Amen! Your closing prayer has been ours too for the last few days.

Comment by Ugonma




Leave a Reply

