JohnSWilson3 Blog


“Be ye empowered in the Lord and in the might of the strength of him.” Part 2
April 30, 2011, 8:10 pm
Filed under: P Letter to the Ephesians

As we learn to put our arms around Christ, to live by His life together, we do so “in all” by faith. Christ is our “faith.” As Paul told the Galatian churches that were falling for “the craftinesses of the devil,” seeing the conflict from an earthly and fleshly perspective, Paul with great clarity proclaimed: “I have been crucified with Christ; and it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and delivered Himself up for me.” Living life together by Christ’s life is to share our measure of the gift of Christ in us by faith with each other. When Paul wrote his letter to the body of Christ in Rome he mentioned that one of his chief goals was “that I may be encouraged together with you while among you, each of us by the other’s faith, both yours and mine.” We share Christ’s life together by faith, and because Christ is our life we also share faith.

Too often we tempted to live by our personalities, by our former way of life, or by our religious baggage of rules and traditions that we have learned instead of Christ’s life and so we quench the life of Christ in us by not sharing His life with each by faith. For example, I am a shy person by nature, by my flesh, if I do not share because of my shyness then I have not enriched my brothers with Christ in me. By faith I share Christ even though in my flesh I am shy. I also served in the U.S. Army and learned to force myself, that is in my flesh, to speak up or to “take charge” which is still fleshly. So if, as a dominant person I overly function in the body of Christ it is to the loss of my other brothers and sisters who do not get a chance to share their measure of Christ with me. By faith I am patient, letting others share Christ even though my flesh desires to overly function. But looking at it differently, in Christ, I no longer need to look at myself as a shy person or a dominant person, as a part of my flesh they are actually dead, I am now alive in Christ, who is now my life. I am learning to share Christ by the faith He gives me. I am learning to hear Him, to be taught by Him with my other brothers and sisters. He leads me, by faith, to “be quick to listen, and slow to speak, and slow to be angry” and so with “humility and patience bearing with one another in love.” And so now I live no longer either as a shy person or a dominant person but now live as Christ leads by faith. As He speaks by His indwelling life I now share that life of grace and love by faith. But it is a process.

As we learn Christ, putting off the flesh with one another it is a trying experience. We are like sandpaper towards one another, and so when the flesh shows up we are either by faith going to help each other put on Christ, build each other up in love, or by the flesh tear each other down. By the way tearing each other down or shaming others is not Christ’s way of putting off the flesh! And even when this happens we still must remember we are all in process, our conflict is not with each other, but with the systems of this world and those spiritual forces of evil who attempt to train wreck our life with Christ with each other.

When living together by Christ’s life “the only thing that counts is faith expressing itself through love.” Let us resist the craftinesses of the devil that causes us to give labor, pain, sorrow towards each other, and to think evil of others, because of seeing them after the flesh and see each other as in Christ, loving one another by faith. In so doing we will by Christ’s strength “be able to extinguish all the flaming missiles of the evil one.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

