JohnSWilson3 Blog


Crucify My Heart
July 1, 2013, 1:52 pm
Filed under: 1B Favorite Psalms, Hymns, and Spiritual Songs

This song is sung to the tune of “Change My Heart, Oh God.” While the original words of the song still speak truth, in that God in Christ desires that we live from a changed heart, in reality He has crucified the old heart and given us a new one. This is a process of realization, a progression if you will, through life’s experience with Him.

Crucify my heart,
Give me only Yours,
Crucify my heart,
Taken on Your cross.

You are Redeemer, I am Your work,
Hold me and place me, in Your loving heart.

Crucify my heart,
Give me only Yours,
Crucify my heart,
Taken on Your cross.

DeVern Fromke in his book “Ultimate Intention” states: “The heart, God says, is desperately sick, and He must do something more fundamental than cleanse it: He must give us a new one!…the ‘flesh’ was never to be cleansed; it must be crucified. The work of God within us must be something wholly new.”

“The heart is deceitful above all things and beyond cure. Who can understand it?” Jeremiah 17:9.

“I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh.” Ezekiel 36:26.

“Those who belong to Christ Jesus have crucified the sinful nature with its passions and desires. Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit.” Galatians 5:24.

“For we know that our old self (man) was crucified with him so that the body ruled by sin might be done away with, that we should no longer be slaves to sin – because anyone who has died has been set free from sin.” Romans 6:6.

“See to it, brothers and sisters, that none of you has a sinful, unbelieving heart that turns away from the living God. But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called ‘Today,’ so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness. We have come to share in Christ, if indeed we hold firmly till the end our original conviction.” Hebrews 3:12-14.

Scripture passages from TNIV.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hey my brother,

Excellent!

Odd how we are known by our hearts of stone, but now, the Word changes everything: Lving Stones. 😉

Comment by Kat Huff




Leave a Reply

